Personal Piece: Ireland – My Point of View

24th of May 2015, that was the day when I arrived in Ireland and my life completely changed since that date…

New country, foreign language and a variety of nationalities. It is such a wonderful experience for me and a big step forward in my life. My friend were very surprised when they found out about the fact that I am moving to Ireland. They were shocked and very proud of me as well. ” You are very brave and we are going to support you” – that words I heard from them. I am so so lucky that I have such an amazing and true friends even if we are thousand kilometers apart. But wait, this is not going to be a post about my friends ;p

As a Wikipedia says:

Ireland is an island in the North Atlantic separated from Great Britain to its east by the North Channel, the Irish Sea, and St George’s Channel. It is the second-largest island of the British Isles, trailing only Great Britain, the third-largest in Europe, and the twentieth-largest on Earth.

Politically, Ireland is divided between the Republic of Ireland (officially also named Ireland), which covers five-sixths of the island, and Northern Ireland, a part of the United Kingdom, which covers the remaining area and is located in the northeast of the island. In 2011 the population of Ireland was about 6.4 million, ranking it the second-most populous island in Europe after Great Britain. Just under 4.6 million live in the Republic of Ireland and just over 1.8 million live in Northern Ireland.”

Here it is. General definition of Ireland. But what Ireland means to me ?

Ireland is a place in the world when I can be free and people won’t judge me for being myself. I know it may sounds weird for anyone who lives there but for me that’s the place, where I can be myself and I can be sure that people won’t hate me for that. It is just the way I feel, the true way I feel.

My town, which I used to live in Poland, is very small and everybody knows each other. Living in a small town isn’t easy.  You have to be very careful, I mean you can be judged for everything. The way you dress up, the way you tight up your hair or the way you are thinking and for your opinions as well. Maybe I shouldn’t  say all these bad things because Im Polish and that’s my country but I have a feeling that I should. I am writing this post because I want people to find out a little bit about polish mentality and understand why so many polish people have chosen to live abroad.

I am very tolerant person and I really don’t care about how people look like, about their beliefs of about their orientation. For me the most important thing is if that person is a good human being. Of course, sometimes  I say things which I don’t like but I don’t want to hurt people through that. I don’t mind when people criticize me but only then when it is a constructive criticism and I can learn from that.

I love Irish streets. So colourful and crowded. Every person is a different story, which its tries to show to the others. I love standing at the bus stop and observing people. Their behaviors, reactions, clothes which they are wearing. Everybody here belongs to the society and is a part of something. That’s such a beautiful and inspiring thing! 

Im do glad that I can live and enjoy my freedom here. 😀

Leave a Reply

